Day 18; Don’t go by weight alone, judge your inch loss by clothes

I’ve made the exact same mistake plenty of times in the past – I judge the effectiveness of my diet based on the number of pounds that show up on the scale when I weigh in. But I, like other people, obsess about exactly how much I am losing to the point where i weigh myself every single morning.

Stupid, I know. Your weight can fluctuate up to 5lbs throughout the day, so if you weigh yourself from one day to the next your weight may be all over the place. That’s why I’ve started trying on some of my clothes that got to the point of tightness that I couldn’t wear them to lectures because I’d just be so uncomfortable.

I tried on one of these items of clothing – a beautiful blazer I bought a while back that I couldn’t have worn because of how much of a pinch it gave my arms. But I actually wore it to a lecture today! It fit me beautifully, just showing that I really am achieving something! 🙂

And although I have a long way to go before I fit back into my size 12/14 clothes (my hips just refuse to let my bottom size go below a size 14 unfortunately), every little achievement feels pretty awesome right now. I hope I can read back on this post on days where I feel down and want to give up, because if losing the inches isn’t motivation then I don’t know what is!

2 thoughts on “Day 18; Don’t go by weight alone, judge your inch loss by clothes

Leave a Reply

