Day 192; Some interesting news…

The last week has been a bit odd if I’m honest. Since getting back from holiday I’ve been much better with my eating and I have lost 3lbs! Just goes to show that you can get back onto healthy eating despite eating copious amounts of ice-cream and cake the week before. Mom has been experimenting with some ideas on recipes to try, so I’m having heaps of veg and lovely meat in new and interesting ways. As always, delicious. Here are a few of my meals from this week; an egg salad (lettuce, cucumber, mushrooms, ham, carrots, peppers…), an egg and butterbean stew with loads of veg (courgettes, broccoli etc) and then my favourite of them all; pepper and ham salad with chickpeas and a garlic and basil dressing. Continue to be jealous, go on.

IMG_1091 IMG_1102IMG_0001

Plus, I am a happy bunny because the tennis is on! Who doesn’t love Wimbledon? I went about 6 years ago and had the best day, so watching it on TV isn’t quite as spectacular but I do love watching it nonetheless. As always, I’ll be cheering on Federer and Murray – I can’t STAND Djokovic. Not sure why, maybe it’s because he comes off arrogant but I just can’t bring myself to support the guy.

I went to Snobs [nightclub in Birmingham, FYI] last weekend with my friends from school. We used the first letters of our names (well, L for me because nobody actually calls me Olivia unless I’m being told off!) so we refer to our little group as LAMA. We made it up a few years ago and it just stuck. We also invited our friend Nishith who is moving to Melbourne today to study abroad for a year! So it was nice to see him before he disappeared to the other side of the world for a while. An odd coincidence too was that we saw some people who went to our school/sixth form in Snobs, one of which is an old best friend of mine. I haven’t seen him for about 2 years other than the occasional snapchat which really doesn’t count, so it was great to see him too. I went to my local gym on Sunday but I didn’t work out, I had a nice swim instead. I did about 25 lengths in the end, and the pool was reasonably quiet so I nabbed the ‘quick lane’ for some proper swimming. I didn’t have to dodge around the slow people that way, or splash anyone in the face.

So given the title of this post you can guess that this week has been more eventful than just watching TV, eating, swimming and going out. Well, a woman from the Slimming World press office got in contact with me about my application for my story to feature on their website. Unfortunately, it didn’t get picked to go on their official website but she did refer me to the major student online newspaper called The Tab. It’s a pretty big deal, a lot of students read it! They ran my story which you can read here:

http://tab.co.uk/2015/07/03/i-put-on-five-stone-at-uni-by-going-out-and-eating-in-secret/

Yes, I know. Not the catchiest headline. He did make some exaggerations about my story, but I’ve just accepted that it’s just journalism! Oh, and I didn’t gain 5 stone in one term (IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE!?), it was one year + one term. So about 16-17 months.

At first I was really upset about the article, given that he’d twisted my words and made some pretty big exaggerations in the name of entertainment. But I realised that my story is out there now, and I’d heard back that a lot of other people had got the courage to tell their stories too! That made me feel a lot better about it all, and I haven’t had any negativity towards my story either. Not long after the story got published, I got offers from TWO other NATIONAL MAGAZINES wanting to run my story as well! Who’d have thought I’d be sought after? I am still considering it rather than jumping at it because, although it’s all out there now, I don’t want to feel like I’m selling my soul or something! Haha, now who’s exaggerating?

That’s not even the best bit – I got some flowers delivered to my house. I didn’t think that they were for me originally, I thought maybe my sister’s boyfriend had been adorable and sent them but noooooo, they were for me from the Slimming World Press Office! They were sent in congratulations about my weight loss and my article in The Tab. I was so happy when I got them, all my worries/nervousness about the story being in the public eye went away and it felt like I’d got recognition for my achievements. I didn’t think I’d get this much attention whatsoever. Oh, here’s me posing awkwardly (makeup free too) with my flowers.

IMG_0022

I may be going shopping to Merry Hill later on today if all goes to plan. I was meant to be going to a pub quiz but it was later than I originally thought, so I may struggle to get home. The joys of living somewhere with no public transport within a reasonable walking distance!

Leave a Reply

